20.1 C
Sunday, May 19, 2024

Two more NPC commissioners sworn in

Must read



President Bola Tinubu has sworn in two additional federal commissioners of the National Population Commission (NPC), at the Council Chamber of the State House, Abuja.

The commissioners include Fasuwa Johnson Johnson (Ogun state) and Amidu Tadese Raheem (Osun state).

Their swearing-in came weeks after 17 of their colleagues took the oath of office in March.

The swearing-in ceremony was held just before the commencement of the fifth Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting of 2024.

Meanwhile, the FEC, which is currently ongoing, also observed a minute’s silence in honour of two former ministers; one-time minister of education, Professor Fabian Osuji, and former Minister of Science, Technology, and Innovation, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, before going into closed doors.

Osuji, who died at the age of 82 in February, served as minister of education during the tenure of former President Olusegun Obasanjo, where he played a key role in initiating policies that impacted positively the sector.

Onu, who died at the age of 72, was appointed Minister of Science and Technology during the tenure of former President Muhammadu Buhari.

The FEC, which was ongoing while this report was being put together, has the Vice President, Kashim Shettima; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume; Chief of Staff to the President, Femi Gbajabiamila; the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Dr Folasade Yemi-Esan; and most of the other members of the Council in attendance.

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article