2.7 C
Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Nasarawa rerun: Two new lawmakers sworn in

Must read

Two new lawmakers  of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly, have taken the oath of office.

The lawmakers won the February 3 rerun elections in their respective constituencies.

The lawmakers, Mohammed Omadefu representing APC in Keana and Musa Abubakar representing NNPP in Doma South, were officially sworn in by the Speaker of the House, Danladi Jatau during the House proceedings held in Lafia, the capital of Nasarawa State, on Monday.

Jatau extended congratulations to the re-elected lawmakers and urged them to uphold the highest standards of integrity and dedication in their legislative duties.

“We are happy that you have retained your seats to represent your constituencies in this House,” he said.

The Speaker also urged them to fulfill their responsibilities in accordance with their oath of office.

He further called upon the constituents to rally behind Omadefu and Abubakar to foster an atmosphere of sportsmanship and support for their endeavours in the legislative arena.

He also urged members to work collaboratively towards the advancement of the legislative agenda and the overall development of Nasarawa State.

Lawmakers Abubakar and Omadefu In their response, expressed gratitude to their constituents and divine providence for their re-election.

They also commended Speaker Jatau’s leadership while pledgit their unwavering support to the collective success of the House.

The rerun elections followed the nullification of the initial election results for Keana constituency by the Abuja Division of the Appeal Court on November 28, 2023.

Also, a rerun was ordered for one polling unit in Doma South Constituency following the inconclusive declaration of Mr. Abubakar’s election by the Appeal Court on November 29, 2023.

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article