21.4 C
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Ondo Assembly confirms Aiyedatiwa’s commissioner-nominees

Must read

The Ondo State House of Assembly on Tuesday, screened and confirmed the commissioner-nominees of Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa of the state at the plenary session.

The governor had last week sent the names of six commissioner-nominees, including

Mrs. Omowumi Isaac, Mr. Olukayode Ajulo, Engr. Razaq Obe, Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, Barrister Akinwumi Sowore and Mr. Oseni Oyeniyi to the Assembly for screening and confirmation.

However, out of the six, only Omowumi Isaac was not cleared by the Assembly.

It was gathered that their confirmation was sequel to the submission and consideration of a report by the House Selection Committee which had conducted screening for the nominees at the Assembly complex.

The Speaker of the House, Mr Olamide Oladiji is the chairman of the committee.

At the plenary on Tuesday, the Clerk of the House, Mr Jaiyeola Benjamin read the letter sent to the House by the governor, for the consideration of the nominees.

While submitting the report, the Deputy Speaker of the House, Mr Abayomi Akinruntan recommended the confirmation of the appointment of the nominees whom he affirmed have been properly screened.

The Majority Leader of the House, Mr Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi moved the motion for the report to be considered and the nominees to be confirmed and was seconded by Felix Afe representing Akoko North West 2.

The Speaker, who ruled for the confirmation congratulated the Commissioners, urged them to put in their best and pledged the support of the House to the executive for the people to enjoy more democracy dividend.

Speaking on the sixth nominee, Isaac, who was not confirmed, Oladiji said, “She is unavoidably absent and she would be screened later”

Responding on behalf of other commissioners-designate, Emmanuel Igbasan expressed appreciation to Aiyedatiwa for finding them worthy of the position pledging not to betray the confidence reposed in them.

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article