4.8 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Senate Principal Officers: Akpabio names Bamidele, Umahi, Ndume

Must read

The Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, has announced the names of the leaders of the tenth Senate principal officers.

He named the Ekiti Central lawmaker, Opeyemi Bamidele, as the Senate Majority Leader.

Akpabio also announced Senator Dave Umahi (Ebonyi South) as the Deputy Majority Leader; Senator Ali Ndume (Borno South) as Chief Whip; and Senator Lola Ashiru (Kwara South) as the Deputy Whip.

The Senate President said, “The All Progressives Congress caucus of the Senate after consultations, has emerged with their leadership which will be the fulcrum of commencing other businesses of the chamber.

“I’m happy to announce that by consensus, the Senate Leader, Sen. Opeyemi Bamidele, will be the Majority Leader.

“Sen. Mohammed Ndume (APC-Borno) will be the Chief Whip of the 10th Senate; Sen. David Umahi (APC-Ebonyi), by your consent, will act as the Deputy Leader and Sen. Lola Ashiru (APC-Kwara) will be the Deputy Chief Whip.”

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article