19.6 C
Monday, May 27, 2024

Senate Confirms 15 INEC Commissioners, Prof. Egwu, 11 Others’ Fate Hangs

Must read

Nigerian Senate has confirmed 15 of the 27 nominated INEC Commissioners forwarded to it by President Muhammadu Buhari a month ago.

The Committee Chairman, Senator Suleiman Nazif representing Bauchi North Senatorial district observed that the report of the Department of State Services (DSS) was favourable to all of them, hence, the Committee forwarded their names for consideration as required by the law.

He, however, did not reveal reasons 12 others were not forwarded for confirmation as at Thursday, but AFRIPOST gathered that they have serious petitions against them which are yet to be cleared.

Of note is Professor Sam Egwu, a nominee from Kogi East Senatorial district, who Senator Dino Melaye had earlier vowed to stop, claiming that President Muhammadu Buhari concentrated his political appointments in the eastern part of Kogi state to the detriment of Kogi West which he represents.

But Nazif maintained that the Committee which was charged with the screening of INEC nominees following plenary decision on 3rd May, 2017 swung into action immediately.

Part of criteria for their screening, he revealed, was educational qualifications, saying they were satisfied.

“That the Senate do consider report of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on the screening of 15 nominees for appointment as Resident Electoral Commissioners”, he said.

Those unanimously confirmed are:

  1. Professor Godswill Obioma Abia
    2. James Iorliam Apam Benue
    3. Dr. Nwachukwu Orji Ebonyi
    4. Dr. Iloh Joseph Valentine Chuks Enugu
    5. Dr. Nentawe Goshwe Yilwatda Plateau
    6. Umar Ibrahim Taraba
    7. Mr. Emeka Ononamadu Joseph Imo
    8. Obo O. Effanga Cross River
    9. Prof. Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu Anambra
    10. Dr. Briyai O. Frankland Bayelsa
    11. Ibrahim Abdullahi Adamawa
    12. Agboke Mutiu Olaleke Ogun
    13. Hussaini Halilu FCT
    14. Alhaji Ahmad Makama Bauchi
    15. Sadiq Abubakar Musa Kaduna

Meanwhile, Senate President, Dr Bukola Saraki charged them to be honest in discharging their responsibilities.


- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article