12.4 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Jonathan Shared N2bn Ecological Fund Among PDP States Only – El-Rufai

Must read

Governor of Kaduna State, Nasir El-Rufai, has alleged that former President Goodluck Jonathan gave the N2bn ecological fund to each state under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and ignored states under the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) in 2013.

The ACN, the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) and the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) have since merged, to form the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The fund, which is for solving emergency problems like natural disasters, is statutory.

Speaking with State House correspondents after the National Economic Council meeting (NEC) in Abuja on Thursday, El-Rufai said: “The committee established beyond all doubts that in 2013, the administration of President Goodluck Jonathan gave N2bn to certain states of the federation but excluded other states.

“The states that got it were all PDP states and states of other parties that were sympathetic to the PDP like Labour Party in Ondo and APGA in Anambra state. 19 states and the FCT did not get the N2bn from the ecological fund. These states are Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Borno, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Jigawa, Kano, Kwara and Lagos.

“Others are Nassarawa, Niger, Ogun, Osun, Oyo, Rivers, Sokoto, Yobe, Zamfara and the federal capital territory.

“So, essentially what President Goodluck Jonathan did was to take N2bn each from the ecological fund and give to some PDP states.

“Any PDP state that was not his friend like Kano and Kwara didn’t get it. And all the other opposition party, like ACN state got nothing… no ANPP state got anything.”


- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article