Imo Assembly constitutes standing committees


The Speaker of Imo state House of Assembly, Chike Olemgbe, has constituted Standing Committees and charged them to work.

Olemgbe, on Thursday, during plenary, allocated committee jobs to the 27 members of the 10th Assembly.

While announcing his first ever standing committees, the Speaker urged members to identify their job portfolios and live up to the expectations of both their constituents and Imo state at large.

He announced

Uche Agabiga of Orsu state constituency Committee Chairman of Agriculture, livestock and Natural Resources, Chisom Ojukwu of Nkwerre state constituency emerged Budget and Appropriation Chairman.

Henry Agbasonu of Ezinihitte was named tge Committee Chirman on Education as Innocent Ikpamezie representing Mbaitoli state constituency is for Environment.

Others are Gilbert Nwosu for Finance and Economy (Oguta), Sam Otuibe for Health (Ahiazu-Mbaise), Ikenna Ihezuo for House Services (Orlu), Dominic Ezerioha for Judiciary and Information (Oru-west), Francis Osuoha for Isopadec, oil and gas (Ohaji/Egbema), Kanayo Onyemaechi for Lands and OCDA(Owerri west) while Chuks Ofurum of Owerri-north assigned on Mines and Solid Minerals.

Science and Technology is manned by Obinna Egu of Ngor-Okpala, Transportation goes for Sam Osuji of Isiala-mbano, Local government and Chieftaincy Affairs was given to Okey Udenzeh of Ideato-north, Youths, Sports, Rules and Business is manned by the deputy Speaker, Amara Iwuanyanwu representing Nwangele state constituency, Commerce and Industry was given to Johnleoba Iheoha of Ikeduru while Public Utilities and Safety was allocated to the former Speaker, Kennedy Ibeh of Obowo state constituency.

Finally, Culture, Creativity and Tourism was alloted to James Uba Esile of Onuimo, Religion and Pilgrimage for Vitalis Azodo of Ideato South, Power and Water Resources is for Eddy Obinna of Aboh-mbaise, Digital Economy and E-Governance is manned by Ugochukwu Obodo of Owerri Municipal, Housing for Bennett Ebonine of Njaba, Labour and Productivity, Civil Service and Pension was given to the sole PDP member, Modestus Osakwe of Isu, Humanitarian Services goes to Ben Ozoemena of Ehime mbano, Entrepreneurship and Skill Acquisition is manned by Chidiebere Ogbunikpa representing Okigwe while Works and Public Accounts was allocated to the Chief Whip, Chigozie Nwaneri of Oru-east state constituency.